July 26, 2016

The 98th PGA Championship at Baltusrol Golf Club

Welcome to the 2016 version of the PGA Championship where Jason Day will look to defend his first Major title. The venue this year is Baltusrol Golf Club, which was the host site of the 2005 PGA Championship where Phil Mickelson won his second major with a birdie on the last hole. A look at the final leaderboard form 11 years ago:

The course itself is LONG. A shade under 7500 yards. The back nine is the better half for scoring, especially with both 17 & 18 being par 5s. Although, Hole #17 will play over 600 yards so it's hardly a birdie hole.

A couple other tid bits:

-Five of the last six PGA Championship winners won their first major there
-Jason Day is at risk of losing the #1 OWGR spot to DJ this week
-This is the last big chance players have to shoot up Ryder Cup Standings. The Americans on the bubble needing to play well include  Kuchar, Koepka, Reed, Fowler, and Piercy
-Balusrol has also hosted 7 US Opens. Jack Nicklaus won 2 of those

The weather forecast for the weekend looks spotty... When Phil won in 2005 they imfamously had to finish the last few holes the next day and the clubhouse leader, Tiger Woods, left the venue assuming the field would not slip up and force a playoff. He was right, but caught a ton of shit for it. 

Now on to fantasy.

The final scores from our 2016 British Open pool:

Bill  +1
James  +2  (Cool)
Beck +9
Sean +12
Paul +13
Jeremy +14
Adam +17
Dan +23
Campbell +25
Abe +27
Marty +44

All Time Major Winners, Updated:

2013 Masters- Abe
2013 US Open- Bill
2013 British Open- Paul
2013 PGA-  Adam

2014 Masters- Campbell
2014 US Open- Jeremy
2014 British Open- Paul
2014 PGA- Bill

2015 Masters- Jeremy
2015 US Open- Paul
2015 British Open- Paul
2015 PGA- Bill

2016 Masters- Jeremy
2016 US Open- Beckerman
2016 British Open- Bill

2016 PGA Championship Rules:

The final score of all the players on each team will be added up and the lowest cumulative score wins. Each team will have 4 golfers.

+5 will be added to any players score who misses the cut

-10 will be deducted from the score of the team who picks the Champion

If there is a WD, that player will be given a score of the worst round from that day. And then a one time penalty of +5 (the same penalty a player who misses the cut would get.)

The draft order will be the reverse final standings of the previous major


Round 1
Marty- Dustin Johnson
Abe- Rickie Fowler
Dan- Jason Day
Adam- Jordan Spieth
Jeremy- Rory McIlroy
Beck - Henrik Stenson
James- Phil Mickelson
Bill- Matt Kuchar
Dante- Adam Scott

Round 2
Dante- Bubba Watson
Bill- Justin Rose
James- Patrick Reed
Beck- Zach Johnson
Jeremy- Sergio Garcia
Adam- Justin Thomas
Dan- Branden Grace
Abe- Jason Dufner
Marty- Brandt Snedeker

Round 3
Marty- Brooks Koepka
Abe- Charl Scwartzel
Dan- Louis Oosthuizen
Adam- Rafa Cab-Bello
Jeremy- JB Holmes
Beck - Jim Furyk
James- Tony Finau
Bill- Andy Sullivan
Dante- Martin Kaymer

Round 4
Dante- Keegan Bradley
Bill- Steve Stricker
James- Hideki Matsuyama
Beck- Paul Casey
Jeremy- Scott Piercy

The Teams:
Team Beck- Stenson, ZJ
Team Adam- Spieth, Thomas
Team James- Phil, Reed
Team Marty- DJ,
Team Abe- Rickie, Duf,
Team Bill- Kooch, Rose
Team Dan- J Day, Grace
Team Jeremy- Rory, Sergio
Team Dante- Scott, Bubba


No comments:

Post a Comment