July 11, 2016

145th Open Championship

Welcome to the 2016 British Open at Royal Troon

Zach Johnson will be defending his title from 2015, where he won in a playoff against Louis Oosthuizen and Marc Leishman. Here was the final leaderboard:

Jordan Spieth and Jason Day look to take it to the next level, after finishing 1 stroke short from qualifying for the playoff last year. Dustin Johnson is the hottest golfer in the planet right now, having won back to back tournaments (US Open, Bridgestone). Here are the current OWGR heading into the week: 

Royal Troon is a relatively short course, and is set up for a difficult back 9. The front 9 holes all head outward from the clubhouse, with the back 9 coming in. The front 9 is where most of the scoring will happen, which means there may be some drama with guys dropping shots on the back 9 on Sunday. 

The weather will certainly be a factor this week, with a lot of rain expected into and through the weekend: 

Now on to fantasy.

The scores from our 2016 US Open pool:
Beck: +21 (Winner)
Adam +24
James:  +31
Marty: +45
Abe: +49
Bill: +49
Dan: +50
Jeremy: +55
Cbell: +64
Paul- WD
Sean- WD

All Time Major Winners. NOTE: No one except Paul has ever won the British Open Challenge. What a time to be alive.

2013 Masters- Abe
2013 US Open- Bill
2013 British Open- Paul 
2013 PGA-  Adam

2014 Masters- Campbell
2014 US Open- Jeremy
2014 British Open- Paul
2014 PGA- Bill

2015 Masters- Jeremy
2015 US Open- Paul
2015 British Open- Paul
2015 PGA- Bill

2016 Masters- Jeremy
2016 US Open- Beckerman

2016 Open Rules:

The final score of all the players on each team will be added up and the lowest cumulative score wins. Each team will have 4 golfers.

+5 will be added to any players score who misses the cut

-10 will be deducted from the score of the team who picks the Champion

If there is a WD, that player will be given a score of the worst round from that day. And then a one time penalty of +5 (the same penalty a player who misses the cut would get.)

The draft order will be the reverse final standings of the previous major


Round 1
Campbell- Jordan Spieth
Jeremy- Jason Day
Dan- Dustin Johnson
Bill- Rory McIlroy (again)
Abe- Adam Scott
Marty- Justin Rose
James- Henrik Stenson
Adam- Rickie Fowler
Beck- Bubba Watson
Sean- Branden Grace
Paul- Louis Oosthuizen

Round 2
Paul- Jason Dufner
Sean- Phil Mickelson
Beck- Zach Johnson
Adam- Sergio Garcia
James- Shane Lowry
Marty- Matt Kuchar
Abe- Danny Willet
Bill- Lee Westwood
Dan- Hideki Matsuyama
Jeremy- Martin Kaymer
Campbell- Marc Lesihman

Round 3
Campbell- Paul Casey
Jeremy- Patrick Reed
Dan- Brandt Snedeker
Bill- Jim Furyk
Abe- Charl Schwartzel
Marty- Scott Piercy
James- Graeme McDowell
Adam- Rafa Cab-Bello
Beck- Justin Thomas #sb2k16
Sean- Jimmy Walker
Paul- JB Holmes

Round 4
Paul- Kevin Na
Sean- Francisco Molinari
Beck- Andy Sullivan
Adam- Smiley Kaufman
James- Ernie Els
Marty- Matthew Fitzmagic
Abe- Bill Horschel
Bill- Steve Stricker
Dan- David Lingmerth
Jeremy- Matteo Manasero
Campbell- Russel Knox

The Teams: 
Team Paul- Oosthuizen , Dufner , Holmes , Na
Team Sean- Grace, Phil, Walker, Molinari
Team Beck- Bubba, ZJ , JT. Sullivan
Team Adam- Rickie, Sergio, Rafa CB,
Team James- Stenson, Lowry, Mcdowell
Team Marty-  Rose, Kooch, Piercy, Fitz 
Team Abe- Scott, Willet, Horschel Schwartzel
Team Bill- Rory, Westwood, Furyk Stricker
Team Dan- DJ, Matsuyama, Snedeker, Lingmerth
Team Jeremy- JDay, Kaymer, Reed, 
Team Campbell- Spieth, Leishman, Casey, Knox


Bill  +1
James  +2  (Cool)
Beck +9
Sean +12
Paul +13
Jeremy +14
Adam +17
Dan +23
Campbell +25
Abe +27
Marty +44

No comments:

Post a Comment