June 11, 2014

2014 US Open Fantasy Challange

It's Major golf time...The 114th US Open  This year's national championship is held at Pinehurst #2 in North Carolina, a course that has hosted the open before: 2005 when Michael Campbell (Even) held off a charging Tiger Woods (+2) and 1999 when Payne Stewart (-1) outlasted Phil Mickelson (Even) and Woods (+1). The course has had MAJOR renovations between then and now. What do I mean by major? They removed all the rough. That's right, removed all the rough on the course and replaced it with natural "high grass." The course looks much different.

From what I've read, most of the rest of the course remained unchanged. This is another Donald Ross design, who by the way is a very interesting person. Maybe I'll blog about him another day. This course has wider fairways unless the drive is going over 300, where the fairway pinches and becomes narrow. These guy's can easily hit the fairway if they keep the driver in the bag, but that would make for some very hard approach shots to what are some of the toughest greens in America.

As for the players and competitors, Justin Rose is the defending Champ. Tiger Woods is again excluded from the field due to injury, and world #1 Adam Scott is ready to rock. Phil Mickelson will be looking to play well again here, and Bubba Watson will be gunning for Major #2. Young players Rory McIlroy and Jordan Spieth also look like contenders this week.

BILL won the 2013 US Open fantasy Challenge. This time around we will be using the reverse standings from this year's Masters Challenge for our draft order. The winner will be owed Chipotle from all other 9 people in the Challenge.

For the record, here are the winners of the fantasy challenges from the past. Yet to have a repeat winner.

2014 Masters: Campbell
2013 PGA: Adam
2013 British Open: Paul 
2013 US Open : Bill
2013 Masters: Abe


The final score of all the players on each team will be added up and the lowest cume score wins. Each team will have 4 golfers.

+8 will be added to any players score who misses the cut

-8 will be deducted from the score of the team who picks the Champion

If there is a WD, that player will be given a score of the worst round from that day. And then a one time penalty of +8 (the same penalty a player who misses the cut would get.)


Round 1
Paul- Adam Scott
James- Rory McIlroy
Bill- Matt Kuchar
Dan- Phil Mickelson
Beck- Jason Day
Jeremy- Bubba Watson
Abe- Luke Donald
Adam- Jordan Spieth
Sean- Jim Furyk
C Bunny- Sergio Garcia

Round 2
C Bunny- Lee Westwood
Sean- Justin Rose
Adam- Henrik Stenson
Abe- Ricky Fowler
Jeremy- Dustin Johnson
Beck- Zach Johnson
Dan- Jason Dufner
Bill- Webb Simpson
James- Graham McDowell
Paul- Ernie Els

Round 3
Paul- Keegan Bradley
James- Hideki Matsuyama
Bill- Charl Schwartzel
Dan- Brandt Snedeker
Beck- Steve Stricker
Jeremy- Martin Kaymer
Abe-Chris Kirk
Adam- Louis Oosthuizen
Sean- Jonas Blixt
C Bunny- Miguel Angel Jimenez

Round 4
C Bunny- Bill Haas
Sean- Graham Delaet
Adam-Thorbjorn Olesen  Francesco Molinari
Abe- Hunter Mahan
Jeremy- Ian Poulter
Beck- Ryan Moore
Dan- Billy Horschel
Bill- Jimmy Walker
James- John Senden
Paul- Angel Cabrera

Team Rosters:

Free* not Free-Bubba, Dusty, Kaymer, Poulter

Team Finna- McIlroy, McDowell, Matsuyama, Senden

The Godchildren- Donald, Fowler, Kirk, Mahan

Team K Cup- Spieth, Stenson, Oost, Molinari

Team Mosey- Day, ZJ, Stricker, Moore

Team Zeitgeist- Mickelson, Dufner, Sneds, Horschel

Team EDM- Furyk, Rose, Blixt, Delaet

Team Hardo- Scott, Els, Bradley, Cabrera

#DeutscheBill- Kooch, Simpson, Schwartzel, Walker

Bunny Team- Garcia, Westwood, Jimenez, Haas

No comments:

Post a Comment